Your customer might allow the referencing of an existing 8D report instead of creating a new 8D report. What does this process look like?
It is only possible to reference an 8D report if it:
- refers to a complaint of the same customer,
- has been edited up to at least step D4 and has been sent to the customer,
- is not in the "Cancelled" or "Rejected by supplier" status,
- does not refer to another 8D report.
- You can reference 8D reports with activated failure cause categories only to reports in which failure cause categories are required.
- With an "8D Plus" report you can only reference 8D reports for which an 8D Plus is also requested by your customer.
- If your customer requires an 8D report evaluation, you can only reference 8D reports for which also an 8D evaluation report is required. You can reference older complaints which do not contain an evaluation only to reports with an optional 8D report evaluation.
- All data of the current 8D report entered up to that point is deleted with the referencing, with the exception of general actions. If further team members are relevant for the reference, you can add to these under section D1 "Additional D1 team members".
- When you submit the 8D report your customer receives a copy of the referenced 8D report, the basic data, attachments and, if requested, the general actions of the current complaint.
- When you modify and submit the referenced process, all complaints that have been referenced to this complaint by the SupplyOn Problem Solver are transferred automatically. Your customer therefore always has the most up-to-date data for the 8D report and all other relevant complaints.
- If a reference has been assigned you are shown this in the referencing and referenced report under "Basic data". You can remove a reference by clicking on the "Delete reference" button. Please note that you must then set up the 8D report again.
Closing a referenced 8D report by the supplier
If the supplier sets the referenced 8D report to the "Completed by supplier" status or "Closed by supplier" status, this also happens automatically for all referenced 8D reports. The customer therefore receives the response from the supplier that the referencing and the referenced reports have been closed.
Closing a referenced 8D report by the customer
If your customer has closed ("Closed by customer") or cancelled a referenced 8D report, the status of the referencing 8D report stays unchanged. Its status has to be closed (or cancelled if applicable) separately by the customer.
Closing a referencing 8D report by the customer
If your customer has closed ("Closed by customer") or cancelled an 8D report which references another 8D report, a copy of the 8D report is created. The reference is automatically removed by Problem Solver.
Re-opening a referenced 8D report by the customer
If your customer changes the status of a closed, referenced 8D report back to "Open" (re-open for re-editing), the reference is automatically removed by Problem Solver, a copy of the 8D report is inserted into referencing 8D report.